Cracks and crackles and poppy: Handmade decoupage box


cracks and poppy boxWinter came and passed and spring is almost here now ūüôā I haven’t gotten to writing on the blog so far this year. I’m still around here, but I’ve been quite busy, so I didn’t have much time for crafts and goodies.

But last weekend I got together with my friend and she showed me a cool technique I haven’t tried till now: decoupage with crackle effect. We actually used two different techniques which lead to cracks and crackles, so today I’ll show you the first one.

We used a single step crackling medium and two acrylic colors (preferably contrasting colors). The technique is quite simple, but it does take some time due to the need to fully dry each layer. So, we applied the first layer of paint (gold acrylic), allowed it to dry, applied the crackle medium, allowed it to dry also and applied the top layer of paint (white acrylic paint). As the top layer of paint dries, the cracks will appear.

If you want to speed up the process, you may use a heat gun or a hair dryer. Don’t forget to finish the project by putting on a clear coat of varnish (glossy or matt, your choice). And we’re done ūüôā

Hope you like it. Next time, I’ll show you my first attempt at using¬†two-part crackle glaze.

Handmade decoupage boxes with crackle effect

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Cracks and crackles and poppy: Handmade decoupage box

  1. […] Cracks and crackles and poppy: Handmade decoupage box […]

Leave a Reply

