Cupcake mania


cupcakes for ralu's bachlorette party

A few weeks ago, I started making cupcakes again, although I try to control my sugar desire 🙂 But it was a special occasion, the bachelorette  party for my best friend. And as I haven’t baked cupcakes in a long time, I went a bit crazy and actually made 4 types… about 60 cupcakes in total, but there were gone in less than 2 days.

As none of the recipes were my own (although i’ve been using two of them for some years), i’ll just post some of my photos along with the recipes links…and the changes i made (i can’t seem to be able to stop modifying recipes :)) )

choco banana cupcakes  & triple chocolate

So i started with some pink ones, it was a bachlorette party after all 🙂 So, here you have the vanilla cupcakes with strawberry cream cheese frosting. For the frosting i didn’t use a recipe, but i just mixed butter + cream cheese (I used 6% fat not full fat) + powdered sugar + strawberry jam + a drop of pink coloring gel. As decorations I used sugar hearts, flowers and butterflies.

DSCN7077

Then, because the future bride is obsessed with coconut, I tried some pina colada cupcakes. I did a batch of Coconut Rum Cupcakes with Coconut Cream Cheese Frosting but once again I changed the recipe, as at first I didn’t not notice that the recipe doesn’t contain any coconut flake , so I added 100g grated coconut, I only used 1/2 cup of buttermilk and added 1 cup of pineapple juice from canned pineapple. And as I wanted the cupcakes to taste like pina colada … I put some extra pineapple (from can, blended) in the frosting. And I decorated them with some browned coconut flakes (just brown them in skillet for a few seconds) which bring an amazing flavor.

DSCN7076

As for the chocolate ones … it’s a recipe that I have been using for a long time, where I only changed the amount of chocolate chips, I used about 70g of dark chocolate chips and about 100g chopped white chocolate. For the frosting I went with my favorite chocolate cream: ganache (chocolate and cream melted together). They were a hit, as always, mostly among chocoholics.

DSCN7078

But, because the future bride wished she had chocolate-banana for her wedding cake, but settled for chocolate mousse , I decided I’d make another batch of cupcakes. I used a Banana Chocolate Cupcakes Recipe  to which I added as decoration caramelized banana slices and flambé using whiskey. The cupcakes were so moist and yummy and the caramelized banana slices added an interesting flavour.

DSCN7075

I cannot give you the preparation time for each of them, as I did them simultaneously, but I baked and decorated for about 4-5 hours 🙂

Try them, they won’t let you down. Let me know if you tried them. Hope you liked them.  Feel free to comment with any help, opinions, or suggestions.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Cupcake mania

  1. Dea October 22, 2013 at 21:36 Reply

    Imi lasa gura apa 😀
    Super arata! Tot ce faci arata super! Felicitari!

  2. Charisma October 22, 2013 at 21:48 Reply

    Mmm, chocolate banana and chocolate fudge cupcakes!! Delicious!

    • iuliatuca October 22, 2013 at 21:56 Reply

      They were delicious indeed. And so moist…

  3. sweetygrane October 23, 2013 at 03:23 Reply

    I just love strawberry cream cheese cupcakes! can I have some? ^_^

    • iuliatuca October 23, 2013 at 09:47 Reply

      They were quite delicious indeed, we were out of cupcakes super fast. I cannot wait to try the same recipe with fresh fruits 🙂

Leave a Reply

